top of page

5 Ways You Can Benefit From Minimalism, and 8 Ways to Get Started Now.

About 8 months ago, I made a serious lifestyle choice to be a minimalist. And over time, I have gotten rid of over 80% of my belongings. Whoa, that sounds scary. But it wasn't. It happened gradually and naturally with a conscious effort. Let me help you out with understanding minimalism, and then some tips on how you can get started right now!

What is minimalism?

Minimalism is not about having to get rid of the things you love, but embracing what you truly love. It lets more of who you are shine through. It helps you get focused, and get out your clutter in life, so the things that matter stand out. You don’t have to learn to live with under 100 items, or get rid of your favorite stuffed animal you’ve had since you your two (who has honestly seen better days). Its not like that. Minimalism is what YOU make of it. But its more than just getting rid of stuff. It is about taking control of your life, being emotionally healthy, and getting your priorities in line.. I’m going to help you understand why minimalism is a good and healthy lifestyle choice, and then give you some tips on how to get started. I’m excited for you. Lifestyle changes are scary but they help you grow as a person.

Picking a color tone, for wardrobes and rooms, can really help you live minimally. But you don't have to be this bland.

How You Can Benefit From Minimalism

1. Freedom From Stuff (Duh!), Not just literally, but in Your Mind. We can be slaves to our things. We must own them (or they own us more so). We don’t have a choice. We are too attached. As you grow as a minimalist, you grow less and less attached emotionally to material objects. This gives you the freedom of decision in your life. And you will learn a lot about yourself in this process. Not only will your space be literally more clear, so will your head.

2. The ability to have what you really love stand out. I love that now, when I walk in my place, the items I love, and only the items I LOVE, are there clear as day starring back at me. The items that I have chosen to really represent me and the space I want to inhabit my life, are now here to reflect who I am. They are no longer crowded by knick-knacks, over-stuffed wall-space, and the froo-froo impulse buys that were just so pretty! that I had to have them. And I honestly like the fact that now when people come here, they will truly see more of me and who I am- not just stuff I like.

Think about that!

3. Minimalism lets you re-focus. Your open space lets you focus on the present. Your controlled space, lets you see what is important. You aren’t bogged down by all this stuff getting in the way. That clear mind we talked about, is free to center in on the important matters. De-clutter your life, de-clutter your brain. Think I've heard that one before, so it must be true.

4. Actually living, more simply, is a blessing. You have more time. Making the choices NOW on what it is you really want in life, means you don’t have to re-make them every day throughout your day. You always use the same can-opener Betty, just get rid of the froo-froo one from vegas that doesn’t work as well. It eliminates time and creates space. You don’t have to go through a giant wardrobe in the morning, full of clothes you rarely (or never!) wear! You already know you love everything in there, and that most of everything matches most of everything else.

An actual rule I live by.

5. You have more money. Oooh yeah! Mula baby! Living more simply, along with the minimalistic mindset, lets you naturally live with more financial freedom. I found I no longer had all those impulse buys because I was no longer thinking, “how can I get more?” or “oh, do I need this?” but “can I live without this” “do I really love this?” I know it doesn’t sound as fun, but I swear it is. The control is exhilarating!

True facts bro.

Tips for Becoming a Minimalist

So you are thinking about it. Great! You can do this. And remember, you don’t have to do anything you don’t want to. And the smallest step is still a big one! I’m here with you.

1. Start identifying as a minimalist. Here right now. *Produces a sword* Here and now I deem Miss. (Your Name) a minimalist! BAM! You are a minimalist! Congratulations. You didn’t even have to do anything. Quick, decide to get rid of something! Just kidding. Now lets work on making you a good one! But making it part of your identity is the first crucial step. You have to own it. Like a brand. Ironic. This is your lifestyle choice and you are now constantly working on it from here on out, and you will naturally get better at it.

Keeping most of what you own VISIBLE, helps you live minimally. Storage isn't as healthy as society lets you think it is.

2. Start with some big 2-3 hour purges and then keep it up Daily. You will always have purges. But if you are serious about potentially changing your lifestyle, like I was, (and have a lot of crap) you should be able to spend hours getting rid of stuff. Do that. Make a day of it. But then for the next six months, always keep this in your mind, and constantly remove things from your life. You're a minimalist now, (remember the knighting?) So start thinking like one.

You're doing a beautiful job, keep it up.

3. Start getting rid of things you keep mostly for sentimental value. You are a minimalist now, we do that minimally. Start small. Like stuff from ex-boyfriends you like, but you should probably get rid of because it still holds the energy of that past relationship. Or stuffed animals you aren't too attached too. Grow from there. You will be amazed at how free you feel once you are no longer attached emotionally to objects. And by starting to let go of things you are STILL emotionally attached to, you are really helping yourself grow and getting this process of a true minimalistic mindset to form. You have choice over what you keep now.

4. Seek quality over quantity. Instead of having three Walmart t-shirts in different colors/styles, just buy one you really love from a quality place. (Not that Walmart shopping is bad) I used to only shop at good-will, and go for quantity. I still loved my clothes. Or so I thought. But now I found this more “up-scale” store I absolutely LOVE downtown, where a clothing item is more like $20-$50. I take much better care of that clothing. And I now suddenly have the money to buy it.

5. Get rid of things you haven’t used in over a month. If that seems like too much, then 2 months, or 6 months. This little rule, will really help you make choices, and really see what it is you use.

Google "Capsule Wardrobes". Try it!

6. Get rid of duplicates and similarities. Do you really need one long slim white skirt, and one slim white skirt with a slit in it? Learn how to decide hunny. I made rating systems. Like 0-3 how attractive I feel in it. 0-3 how much I love it 0-3 how well it fit and 1 point for if I'm attached to it. Then I had a list of numbers to easily cross things out from. I did this everything. Books, jewelry, decorative items. More about that later in my next series.

Actually ask yourself that. "What does this really ADD to my life?"

7. Look up minimalism spaces and get inspired. Maybe make a vision board of your new home. Minimalism is what YOU make of it.

If these don't look like you, you can make something that does. Be creative! Buy some paint.

8. You CAN do this! Tiny steps darling.

If any of you are interested in a prolonged course on minimalism, where I will post weekly: something you purge that week, daily things to get rid of, and little things to do like minimalism journal entries to help you get in the mindset, email me and let me know! If at least 8 people say they are seriously interested, I will do it, and email you back and let you know when I start it! And please email me or facebook me and tell me about your journey or struggles! Always happy to help.

Covered furniture? Like, my grandma?

Here is a small check-list to get you started.

Save

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page